top of page

Captivating Historical Fantasy Novels



As a lover of both historical fiction and fantasy, we choose historical fantasy as a way to get a fix of both genres in one sitting. The combination of a historical setting and fantastical elements allows us to gain a better perspective on different beliefs and cultures as well as to fuel my imagination and curiosity. From interesting magic systems to mythical creatures, the historical fantasy novels listed below will take you to many different time periods all over the world and captivate you from beginning to end. Perfect for fans of Bridgerton, The Glided Age, and Downton Abbey.


She Seduced Me: A Love Affair with Rome by Mark Tedesco


She Seduced Me is that rare book in which the reader becomes part of a magical world in which places, monuments and artists come alive through their stories. In this case, however, that world is Rome and the reader becomes a participant in the ebb and flow of the city and gains insight into why so many have fallen in love with Rome despite its faults. This work of nonfiction is divided into chapters in which the reader experiences aspects of art, culture, history and the present through the eyes of the writer and of the inhabitants of Rome, past and present. The journey commences with the reader accompanying the author who, standing in front of Michelangelo’s Moses statue, mouth agape, almost hears the artist scream at his creation: “Speak!” From this an odyssey of wonder begins: what is the story behind the Trevi fountain, behind that rock in the middle of the Roman Forum, behind all those priests and nuns everywhere, behind everything one stumbles upon, wonders about and takes selfies in front of? The quest is to uncover those stories.



The Conjurer by Luanne G. Smith


Sidra didn’t murder her husband. Yet even a jinni can’t wish away a wrongful imprisonment. Determined to prove her innocence, she returns to her adopted home—a French village renowned for its perfume witches—with her friends Elena and Yvette by her side. Here is where Sidra’s true destiny awaits, but danger also lurks in the village’s narrow lanes. On her trail is Jamra, another jinni, who’s after more than revenge for the murder of his brother. He also seeks vengeance for the indignities inflicted on jinn by mortals over the centuries. When he learns of an ancient relic capable of unleashing chaos on the world, and that the weapon is in the hands of his murderous sister-in-law, he vows to destroy Sidra to get it. Relying on a sisterhood of magic, a mysteriously faithful dog, and a second-rate sorcerer, Sidra defends herself using the village’s greatest asset: its perfume. It’s as beguiling a lure as it is a formidable shield. But is it enough for Sidra to protect herself and those she loves from powers yet to be released?



Cold as Hell by Rhett C. Bruno and Jaime Castle


In the West, there are worse things to fear than bandits and outlaws. Demons. Monsters. Witches. James Crowley's sacred duty as a Black Badge is to hunt them down and send them packing, banish them from the mortal realm for good. He didn't choose this life. No. He didn't choose life at all. Shot dead in a gunfight many years ago, now he's stuck in purgatory, serving the whims of the White Throne to avoid falling to hell. Not quite undead, though not alive either, the best he can hope for is to work off his penance and fade away. This time, the White Throne has sent him to investigate a strange bank robbery in Lonely Hill. An outlaw with the ability to conjure ice has frozen and shattered open the bank vault and is now on a spree, robbing the region for all it's worth. In his quest to track down the ice-wielder and suss out which demon is behind granting a mortal such power, Crowley finds himself face-to-face with hellish beasts, shapeshifters, and, worse ... temptation. But the truth behind the attacks is worse than he ever imagined ...



Spells and Slip-ups by Annie Anderson


I suck at witchcraft. Coming from a long line of famous witches, I should be at the top of the heap. Problem is, if there is a spell cast anywhere in my vicinity, I will somehow mess it up. As a probationary agent with the Arcane Bureau of Investigation, I have two choices: I can limp along and maybe pass myself off as a competent agent, or I can fail. Miserably. Worse news? If I can’t get my act together, I may not only be out of a job, I could also lose my life. Whose idea was this again?



Shadow Dancer by KJ Baker


My name is Marney and I am immortal. Oh, and I also hunt rogues. Did I mention that part? I used to work worked alone. Cold-hearted. Distant. But Ciaran Connor changed all that. He's a vampire, the sworn enemy of an immortal, and I should have hated him. But I didn't. With his help, I managed to foil an attempt to destroy London, enslave humanity, and give vampires dominance over the other races. After that, life should be easy, right? Sure. Who am I kidding? Because if there's one thing I've learned the hard way, it's that your past has a nasty habit of catching up with you. So when Ciaran's past comes knocking and dark secrets are revealed, my world is thrown into chaos. Again. If I don't find a way to save him, I'll lose Ciaran forever. But it's not just my heart that's at risk: it's the whole of London because Ciaran holds the key to stopping a deadly threat that's stalking my streets. Can I find him before it's too late? Wish me luck. I'm going to need it.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page